

ACTION CALL

LEGISLATION INTRODUCED TO REDUCE UNFAIR GOVERNMENT COMPETITION

April 15, 2011

What's at Issue

U.S. Representative John Duncan (R-TN) and U.S. Senator John Thune (R-SD) introduced legislation, the Freedom from Government Competition Act (and H.R. 1474 and S. 785, respectively) to reduce unfair government competition with the private sector, including small business. NATA members are being asked to contact their Members of Congress to request they co-sponsor this legislation. The more co-sponsors the bill has, the more likely it will be taken up by Congress.

Why It's Important

H.R. 1474/S.785 seeks to end government monopolies and benefit taxpayers by subjecting commercial activities being performed by federal employees within government agencies to market competition. Not only do federal agencies duplicate the services of private business, but many engage in unfair competition with the private sector. Eliminating this duplicative effort could save the federal government as much as \$27 billion annually, and help job creation in the private sector.

What to Do

Contact your Members of Congress in both the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate today and request they support H.R. 1474/S.785 by becoming a co-sponsor. NATA's Legislative Action Center provides association members a quick, easy way to email letters directly to their Member of Congress.

NATA Position

NATA members have continuously experienced government competition in the form of airport operators competing with private business. Congress must recognize the right of private businesses to have the first option in providing services at airports, and should ensure that airport authorities seeking to provide these same services are not granted an unfair advantage due to their government status.

Status

H.R. 1474 has been referred to the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform. Joining Congressman Duncan as original cosponsors were Reps. Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), House Small Business Committee Chairman Sam Graves (R-MO), Richard Hanna (R-NY), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Steven LaTourette (R-OH), Donald Manzullo (R-IL), David McKinley (R-WV), Dennis Ross (R-FL), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA), and Don Young (R-AK).

S. 785 has been referred to the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs. Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY), James Inhofe (R-OK), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), and Pat Roberts (R-KS) are original cosponsors on S. 785.

Staff Contact: Kristen Moore

Director, Legislative Affairs

kmoore@nata.aero