NATA Recognizes Outstanding Contributions To The Industry

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual or organization still active in general aviation on a regular, day-to-day basis and recognizes outstanding service and ongoing contributions to the industry.

Current Recipient:

2023 - Greg Schmidt, President & CEO, Pentastar Aviation, LLC

Past Recipients:  

2021/2022 - William "Bill" Bohlke, former President of Bohlke International Aviation
2018 - Don Campion, President, Banyan Air Service
2016 - David Todd Duncan, Chairman, Duncan Aviation
2015 - Mark C. Willey, CEO and Managing Partner, Napa Jet Center
2014 - Amy Koranda, former Vice President of Operations, National Air Transportation Association
2013 - Marian Epps, Epps Aviation
2012 - Jim Miller, Nextant Aerospace
2011 - Mary M. Miller, Signature Flight Support and BBA Aviation
2010 - James C. Christiansen, Hawker Beechcraft
2009 - Congressman Jerry Costello (D-IL), Chairman of US House of Representatives Subcommittee on Aviation
2008 - James J. Ballough, Director, Flight Standards Service, Federal Aviation Administration
2007 – Mike Sweeney, Chairman and CEO, United States Aviation Underwriters
2006 – Dr. Bruce J. Holmes, Associate Director for Airspace and Vehicle Systems Integration, Airspace Systems Programs Office, NASA Langley Research Center
2005 – Michael W. Delk, Air BP Aviation Services
2004 – Arlene and Clarke Thomas, Owners, Fostaire Helicopter
2003 – Deputy Secretary Admiral James Loy, Department of Homeland Security
2002 – Tom Slavin, General Manager, Million Air - Cleveland
2001 – The Honorable Jane Garvey, FAA Administrator
2000 – Congressman Jimmy Duncan
1999 – Guy Hill, Sr., President, Hill Aviation
1998 – Robert P. Anderson, former President of AMR Combs
1997 – James E. Timmons, Air BP
1996 – Malcom S. (Mack) Graham, Business Jet Solutions
1995 – Ed Stimpson, President, General Aviation Manufacturers Association
1994 – J. Robert Duncan, Chairman, Duncan Aviation
1993 – Peter G. Tanis, President, Tanis Aviation
1992 – A.M. Weather, a service of Maryland Public Television
1991 – Aviation Sales Department, Phillips Petroleum Company
1990 – J. Patrick Murphy, Vice President, Marketing & Product Support, AVIALL
1989 – Arlene E. and Herbert R. Elliott, founders, Elliott Flying Serice
1988 – Sky-Life Foundation, Inc.
1987 – Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, U.S. House of Representatives
1986 – Howard V. Gregory, founder, Des Moines Flying Service
1985 – United States Aircraft Insurance Group
1984 – Neward Sector TRACON Team, FAA