NATA William A. “Bill” Ong Memorial Award

NATA Recognizes Extraordinary And Meritorious Service To The Industry

The William A. “Bill” Ong Memorial Award is named in honor and memory of the association’s Co-Founder and first President and is given for extraordinary achievement and extended meritorious service to the general aviation industry.

Current Recipient:

2023 - S. Michael Scheeringa, Managing Director, SAR Trilogy Management

Past Recipients: 

2021/2022 - Craig R. Sincock, Owner, President, and CEO of Avfuel
2018 - Martin (Marty) H. Hiller, former NATA President (current owner of FBOs Marathon Jet Center and Marathon General Aviation, CEO of Hiller Carbon, and a principal in North Shore Holdings, LLC) 
2017 - Larry R. Flynn, former President, Gulfstream Aerospace 
2016 - Edward M. Kilkeary, Sr., founder and CEO, L.J. Aviation
2015 - James C. Christiansen
2014 - John Pistole, former Transportation Security Administration (TSA) Administrator 
2013 - The Honorable Sam Graves (R-MO), U.S. House of Representatives
2012 - Bruce Whitman, FlightSafety International
2011 - Kenneth C. Ricci, Flight Options
2010 - Pat Epps, Epps Aviation
2009 - Gary Driggers, Midcoast Aviation
2008 - Richard Van Gemert, Sr. VP, Jet Aviation
2007 – Ray Fitzgerald, Vice Chairman and Director, Landmark Aviation
2006 – Robert and Kim Showalter, Owners, Showalter Flying Service
2005 – Charles E. Priester, Priester Aviation, LLC
2004 – Russell W. Meyer, Jr., Chairman Emeritus, Cessna Aircraft Company
2003 – Al Ueltschi, founder, FlightSafety International
2002 – Gwen Mayo, founder, Mayo Aviation
2001 – Herb & Arlene Elliott, Elliott Aviation
2000 – William B. Watt
1999 – Clay Lacy, founder, Clay Lacy Aviation
1998 – Julian Jordan “J.J.” Frey, former Vice President of the Seaplane Operation for the EDO Corporation
1997 – Paul E. Sanderson, Vice Chairman, Jeppesen Sanderson
1996 – William R. Cutter, Chairman, Cutter Aviation
1995 – Howard V. Gregory, founder of Des Moines Flying Service
1994 – John T. Tucker, vice chairman, Midcoast Aviation
1993 – Kenneth A. Rowe, former President, National Association of State Aviation Officials
1992 – Thomas H. Davis, founder & former Chairman, Piedmont Aviation, Inc.
1991 – Leighton Collins, founder & Publisher, Air Facts
1990 – Thomas Dickson, Jr., former Vice President, Airwork Service Division
1989 – Robert S. Northington, Sr., former Sr. Vice President, Piedmont Aviation
1988 – G.B. Van Dusen, founder, Van Dusen Aircraft Supplies
1987 – George J. Priester, founder, Priester Aviation
1986 – Harry B. Combs, founder, Combs Aircraft
1985 – George E. Haddaway, former Editor and Publisher, Flight Magazine
1984 – Paul E. Garber, Director Emeritus, National Air & Space Museum